Understanding Freight Class


To establish fair measures and standardize freight pricing, the National Motor Freight Traffic Association (NMFTA) created a freight classification system for all types of commodities. This system, featuring well-defined classes, is cataloged with National Motor Freight Classification tariff, commonly referred to as the NMFC.

Shipping commodities are grouped into 18 freight classes between 50 and 500. Shippers and carriers use the NMFC freight classifications as a common standard when setting shipping rates.

What is freight class based on?

NMFC Freight classifications are based on four characteristics:
  •  Density
  •  Freight Stowability
  •  Ease of Handling
  •  Liability

It is imperative to accurately determine the National Motor Freight Classification of the items being shipped to avoid costly adjustments.

If you have questions regarding freight classes, a Central Transport account representative will be happy to help you.
Please call (586) 467-1900 for assistance.

Your business is our business

Central Transport helps to build and shape the United States by transporting the goods businesses need to run, and the goods they produce. We are proud to provide such critical services which touch every facet of everyday life. It is our goal to help your business be as successful as possible by making sure your freight gets to its destination safely and when needed – at a cost you can afford. Thank you for choosing Central Transport.

  (586) 467-1900